Unit of certification — Marine Stewardship Council
Personal tools
Log in

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


Unit of certification

The unit of certification is the unit that is assessed by certifiers against the MSC environmental standard. It is defined as the fishery or fish stock (a biologically distinct unit) combined with the fishing method/gear and practice (the vessel/s) pursuing that stock. This is set at the beginning of the assessment.

The fishery: Unit of certification

The certified Western Australia rock lobster fishery is defined as:


Rock Lobster (Panulirus Cygnus)

Geographical range of

fishing operations

Western Australia – from Bunbury (34024’S) in the south to Shark Bay (24044’S) in the north.

Method of capture

Pots and traps


 Australian rock lobster


Western Australian Fishing Industry Council (WAFIC) and Western Rock Lobster Council (WRLC).  Managed by Quota Management System (QMS).

Client group

Western Rock Lobster Council (WRLC)

Document Actions