The Sustainable Seafood Awards Australia 2022

The Sustainable Seafood Awards Australia recognise organisations and individuals making a significant contribution to ensure we have fish forever. The annual awards are run by the Marine Stewardship Council in partnership with the Aquaculture Stewardship Council.

Key dates

Applications and nominations for the Sustainable Seafood Awards Australia 2022 open in January 2022.

  • Wednesday 19 January 2022: entries open
  • Tuesday 22 February 2022: entries close
  • Judging takes place
  • Monday 21 March 2021: award winners announced and can start public communication during Sustainable Seafood Week Australia

We encourage anyone thinking of applying to get in touch and ask questions. Good luck!

How to enter

To apply or nominate, please fill in the relevant form below and either email to or post to The Marine Stewardship Council, Building 6, 202 Nicholson Parade, Cronulla, 2230, NSW.

Your entry or nomination must arrive before the closing deadline of 6 pm AEST 22 February 2022.


Use the application form to enter an award category and the nomination form to enter a nomination category.

Forms coming soon.

Eligibility criteria

The awards are open to MSC and ASC partner organisations registered and based in Australia as well as individuals based in Australia who have made a significant contribution to the MSC vision and mission and/or ASC vision and mission. More information on eligibility is listed within each category.

The award categories

You may enter more than one category, but you must complete a new application form for each.


Nomination categories

Nominate using the nomination form.


By public vote

Voting details will be announced in January 2022.


What winners will receive

Winners will receive:

  • Award trophy
  • Unique marketing claim 
  • Certificate
  • Awards graphic
  • PR and marketing support to communicate your win
  • Speaking engagements and preferential marketing opportunities

Judging details

The MSC and the ASC will assess the applications to fact check any claims. Where applicable, an independent judging panel made up of experts from outside of the MSC and the ASC will then score the applications based on a balanced scorecard.

The judges are looking for authenticity, passion, creativity, impact, inspiration and commitment.

Judging panel

Judges to be announced in February 2022.

Terms and conditions

Disqualification may occur if your entry does not meet these terms and conditions.


Get in touch

For more information and to ask questions, please get in touch with Alex.

Alex Webb

Alex Webb

Senior Communications and Marketing Manager


Contact Alex

Award winners


Austral Fisheries Glacier 51 Toothfish has taken out the title of Best Sustainable Seafood Product for the second year running, this time shared with the newly Marine Stewardship Council certified Fremantle Octopus range. Meanwhile, the Aquaculture Stewardship Council certified Australian Clean Seas kingfish scooped the accolade for Best Responsible Seafood Product.

Read the full list of the 2021 award winners


Coles, ALDI, Woolworths, Taronga Zoo and Austral Fisheries were amongst those named in the Marine Stewardship Council’s 2020 Sustainable Seafood Awards Australia.

Read the full list of the 2020 award winners

Fish Forever
Sustainable Seafood Week Australia 2022

Sustainable Seafood Week Australia 2022

An annual campaign which champions action to protect fish and marine life. 21-27 March 2022.

Find out more
  • '{{item.Image.Title}}', {{item.Image.Artist}}, {{item.Image.Description}}