Consultation on Review of the Fisheries Standard

Stakeholders are at the heart of our Fisheries Standard Review, helping identify issues, develop solutions and test the possible impacts of any proposed changes.

We are holding a series of consultations throughout 2020 and 2021 for stakeholders to take part in the development of the Fisheries Standard.

Sign up to our Fisheries Standard Review update to be notified of upcoming consultation activities and developments. 

 

About the consultation period

The focus in 2020 will be on agreeing what the Standard is trying to achieve in any specific area where changes could be made. If a revised Standard is proposed, the focus in 2021 will be on reviewing the new document.

  • All consultations in 2020 will be online due to the global COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Places in workshops are limited and will be allocated so as to ensure representative participation. This is in compliance with the ISEAL Standard Setting Code.
  • Consultations will be in English unless stated otherwise. If you feel language or time-zones are a barrier to participation, or have any other questions on the events, please contact us

 

Consultation events

All events will be posted here.

To be notified of future activities and developments, sign up to our Fisheries Standard Review update.

Fisheries Standard Review Consultation Launch

Virtual conference 

In May 2020, we held a virtual conference for the Fisheries Standard Review Consultation Launch. 

The MSC’s Chief Science and Standards Officer Dr Rohan Currey, outlined the current Fisheries Standard Review and answered questions on all areas under consideration for revision. 

Project leads from Science and Standards also discussed the key issues under review in each of the three Principles of the MSC Fisheries Standard. Each talk was followed by a live Question and Answer session. 

View our virtual conference on demand

 

Endangered, threatened and protected (ETP) species and ghost gear

Virtual workshop
14:00 UTC 10 June 2020 

This workshop will consult on:

Registration for the virtual workshop is now closed

 

Introducing requirements on the type and quality of evidence needed for scoring fisheries

Virtual workshop 
08:00 UTC 23 June 2020 / 13:00 UTC 25 June 2020

This workshop will consult on possible changes to evidence requirements, specifically related to

and how such requirements are best developed. We are looking for participants with a good understanding of the MSC Fisheries Standard and professional experience of fisheries monitoring or surveillance. 

Register your interest in participating

Registration for the virtual workshop will close on Tuesday 9 June 2020

Endangered, threatened and protected (ETP) species

Online survey
11 June – 12 July 2020 

This survey invites input on clarifying best practice for reducing impact on endangered, threatened and protected species, including how we can clearly and consistently designate these species. We seek contributions from those with knowledge of relevant populations or experience of managing the environmental impact of fisheries. 

Be informed when the survey opens 

 

Ghost gear

Online survey 
11 June – 12 July 2020

This survey invites input on developing solutions to support the prevention of gear loss and ghost fishing and mitigation actions for certified fisheries. 

Be informed when the survey opens

 

Establishing best practice in monitoring, control and surveillance

Online survey
11 June – 12 July 2020

This survey invites input on ensuring effective fisheries management systems are in place and how monitoring, control and surveillance are articulated. We seek contributions from those with a good understanding of the types of management systems and laws applicable to MSC fisheries. 

Be informed when the survey opens

 

Restructuring the MSC Standard

Online survey
11 June – 12 July 2020

This survey invites input on making the MSC Fisheries Standard more efficient to make it easier to use, potentially by restructuring it or changing the scoring methodology. 

Be informed when the survey opens

 

Defining the key attributes of the MSC Standard

Online survey
11 June – 12 July 2020 

This survey seeks input on making the MSC Fisheries Standard more efficient reviewing how to communicate the MSC Fisheries Standard in plain English. We are inviting practitioners, including Team Leaders, Assessment team members and Peer Review College members, to help identify the core attributes of the standard. 

Be informed when the survey opens

 

Harvest strategies and harvest control rules

Online survey
11 June – 12 July 2020 

This survey invites input on options for reviewing Principle 1 with a focus on harvest strategies and control rules. 

Be informed when the survey opens

 

Evaluating the MSC’s requirements for the prevention of shark finning

Virtual workshops
07:00 UTC 7 July 2020 / 14:00 UTC 9 July 2020

These workshops seek expert input in ensuring MSC certified fisheries are not involved in shark finning. We want to make sure our requirements reflect global best practice in policy and management measures. We are looking for participants with a good understanding of national and international policies and control mechanisms used to prevent shark finning, who also have a basic understanding of how third-party certification programs operate. 

Register your interest in participating

Registration for the virtual workshop will close on Tuesday 23 June 2020

Feasibility of Principle 1 changes for existing requirements

Virtual workshop  10:00 - 13:00 AEST/ 00:00 - 03:00 UCT 9 July 2020  

This workshop seeks input on

We are inviting experts in these areas to help us clarify and define specific terms and remove duplication in Principle 1. Participants need to have a good understanding of the MSC Fisheries Standard and knowledge of relevant stock assessment techniques.

Register your interest in participating

Registration for the virtual workshop will close on Thursday 25 June 2020

Discussing the current habitats requirements and their associated interpretations 

Virtual workshop 23 July 2020 (time to be confirmed)

This workshop seeks input on

An opportunity for stakeholders to discuss the current habitats requirements and their associated interpretations.

Register your interest in participating

Registration for the virtual workshop will close on 9 July 2020

Asia Pacific Fisheries in Focus

Virtual conference - details to be confirmed

Sign up for our policy updates to be notified when registration opens

Clouds, mountains and sea with small waves, from West Coast Groundfish Fishery, Newport, Oregon, USA.

The Fisheries Standard Review

Every five years the MSC initiates a Fisheries Standard Review (FSR) to help us ensure our assessment and certification system remains the leading measure of fisheries sustainability.

Find out more
  • '{{item.Image.Title}}', {{item.Image.Artist}}, {{item.Image.Description}}