Consultation on Review of the Fisheries Standard

Stakeholders are at the heart of our Fisheries Standard Review, helping identify issues, develop solutions and test the possible impacts of any proposed changes.

 

Progress in the Fisheries Standard Review

We are now entering the final stages of the Fisheries Standard review and have developed a proposed revised Standard.

The proposed Standard will be reviewed by the MSC Board of Trustees in January 2022. 

The proposed Standard has been developed with input from stakeholders and our governance bodies, independent research, and extensive impact testing to ensure the proposed changes are feasible and can be audited effectively. 

We will work with our stakeholders to ensure all changes proposed are clear and that the new Standard delivers the intentions of our program. 

Public review of the proposed Standard in 2022

A 60-day public review of the proposed revised MSC Fisheries Standard will launch on Tuesday 01 February 2022.

Stakeholders will be able to take part in an online survey and comment on whether the proposed revisions to our Standard are effective and can be feasibly applied and audited.

This will be the final opportunity for stakeholders to provide feedback on the revisions proposed. 

Stakeholders will be provided with the proposed revised MSC Fisheries Standard and all associated documents and guidance, including the proposed revised Fisheries Certification Process.

The public review will close at 0700 UTC on Monday 04 April 2022.

All feedback will be analysed and will help us ensure changes are clear and that the new Standard delivers the intentions of our program. 


The MSC Board of Trustees will make the final decision on revising the Standard in June 2022. 

Sign up to be notified when the public review launches.

 

 

Join our webinar 

Join our Chief Science and Standards Officer Dr Rohan Currey, Fisheries Standard Director Dr Ernesto Jardim and the MSC Fisheries team as we discuss the proposed changes to the MSC Fisheries Standard. 

We will hold two plenary webinars to accommodate different time zones on Tuesday 15 February 2022.

Each webinar will focus on different key topics. Both webinars will be available to view on demand via the event platform after the event has taken place.  

You will also have an opportunity to ask questions about the proposed changes to our Standard and can find out about all the different topics covered in the review through drop-in sessions with MSC experts.

Event program

Introducing the Proposed Revised MSC Fisheries Standard 

With a focus on preventing shark finning, harvest strategies and evidence requirements

Date: Tuesday 15 February 2022
Time: 0700 - 0900 UTC/ 1800 – 2000 AEST
Chair: Nikki Wood, Head of Stakeholder Engagement
Keynote speaker: Dr Ernesto Jardim, MSC Fisheries Standard Director
Panellists: Polly Burns, Head of Fisheries Policy; Tim Davies, Head of Fisheries Standard Operations; Adrian Gutteridge, Fisheries Standard Manager

0700 – 0800 UTC/ 1800 – 1900 AEST
Plenary presentation with live Questions & Answers

Introducing the Proposed Revised MSC Fisheries Standard with a focus on:   

  • Evidence Requirements
  • Preventing shark finning
  • Harvest Strategies 

0800 – 0900 UTC/ 1900 – 2000 AEST
Drop-in sessions with live Questions & Answers 

  • Evidence Requirements
  • Preventing Shark Finning
  • Harvest Strategies 
  • Monitoring, Control and Surveillance
  • Major Governance and other Scope issues
  • Key Low Trophic Level species
  • Fisheries Standard Review Process 
  • Ghost Gear

Register for the event.

Introducing the Proposed Revised MSC Fisheries Standard 

With a focus on endangered, threatened and protected species, preventing gear loss and ghost fishing, and making our Standard more efficient

Date: Tuesday 15 February 2022
Time: 1600 - 1800 UTC/ 1100 – 1300 EST
Chair: Nikki Wood, Head of Stakeholder Engagement
Keynote speaker: Dr Rohan Currey, MSC Chief Science and Standards Officer
Panellists : Polly Burns, Head of Fisheries Policy; Shaun McLennan, Senior Fisheries Standard Manager, Megan Atcheson, Senior Fisheries Standard Manager


1600 – 1700 UTC / 1100 – 1200 EST
Plenary presentation with live Questions & Answers
Introducing the Proposed Revised MSC Fisheries Standard with a focus on: : 

  • Endangered, threatened and protected species
  • Preventing gear loss and ghost fishing
  • Making our Standard more efficient

1700 – 1800 UTC / 1200 – 1300 EST
Drop-in sessions with live Questions & Answers 

  • Endangered, threatened, and protected species
  • Habitats
  • Standard Efficiency
  • Risk-based framework
  • Fisheries Standard Review Process
  • Fisheries Certification Process & Harmonisation
  • Ecosystems (1700 - 1730 UTC)
  • Inseparable or practicably inseparable stocks, Modified assessment trees, Squid, crab and octopus fisheries & Dynamic stocks (1730 - 1800 UTC)

Register to attend

Next steps

Reviewing the proposed revised Standard

The public review of the proposed Standard launches  on Tuesday 01 February 2022 and close on at 07:00 UTC on Monday 04 April 2022. 

Stakeholders will have an opportunity to review all proposed changes before any final decision to revise the Standard is made.

The new Standard will be released in June 2022 subject to approval from our governance bodies.

To be notified of future activities and developments, sign up to our Fisheries Standard Review update.

The Fisheries Standard Review (home)

The Fisheries Standard Review (home)

The MSC regularly carries out a formal review of the MSC Fisheries Standard to make sure our assessment and certification system remains the leading measure of fisheries sustainability.

Find out more
Previous consultation and engagement

Previous consultation and engagement

Fisheries Standard Review progress updates and consultation summary reports from 2021.

Find out more
  • '{{item.Image.Title}}', {{item.Image.Artist}}, {{item.Image.Description}}