Consultation on Review of the Fisheries Standard

Stakeholders are at the heart of our Fisheries Standard Review, helping identify issues, develop solutions and test the possible impacts of any proposed changes.

We are holding a series of consultations throughout 2020 and 2021 for stakeholders to take part in the development of the Fisheries Standard.

Sign up to our Fisheries Standard Review update to be notified of upcoming consultation activities and developments. 

 

About the consultation period

The focus in 2020 will be on agreeing what the Standard is trying to achieve in any specific area where changes could be made. If a revised Standard is proposed, the focus in 2021 will be on reviewing the new document.

  • All consultations in 2020 will be online due to the global COVID-19 pandemic.
  • Places in workshops are limited and will be allocated so as to ensure representative participation. This is in compliance with the ISEAL Standard Setting Code.
  • Consultations will be in English unless stated otherwise. If you feel language or time-zones are a barrier to participation, or have any other questions on the events, please contact us

 

Consultation events

Details of the consultation events held in June and July 2020 can be found below.

To be notified of future activities and developments, sign up to our Fisheries Standard Review update

Discussing the current habitats requirements and their associated interpretations 

A virtual workshop was held in July 2020 to seek input on:

This provided stakeholders an opportunity to discuss the current habitats requirements and their associated interpretations.

Provide additional input through the online form.

Please note the online form will close on 17 August 2020. 


Endangered, threatened and protected (ETP) species

Online survey 
The online survey is now closed.

This survey invited input on clarifying best practice for reducing impact on endangered, threatened and protected species, including how we can clearly and consistently designate these species. We invited contributions from those with knowledge of relevant populations or experience of managing the environmental impact of fisheries. 

Ghost gear

Online survey 
The online survey is now closed.

This survey invited input on developing solutions to support the prevention of gear loss and ghost fishing and mitigation actions for certified fisheries. 

Establishing best practice in monitoring, control and surveillance

Online survey
The online survey is now closed.

This survey invited input on ensuring effective fisheries management systems are in place and how monitoring, control and surveillance are articulated. We invited contributions from those with a good understanding of the types of management systems and laws applicable to MSC fisheries. 

Restructuring the MSC Standard

Online survey
The online survey is now closed.

This survey invited input on making the MSC Fisheries Standard more efficient to make it easier to use, potentially by restructuring it or changing the scoring methodology. 

Introducing requirements on the type and quality of evidence needed for scoring fisheries

In June 2020, virtual workshops were held to consult on possible changes to evidence requirements, specifically related to:

and how such requirements are best developed.

Stakeholders were also invited to provide additional input through an online form. The online form is now closed.

Evaluating the MSC’s requirements for the prevention of shark finning

Virtual workshops were held in July 2020 to seek expert input in ensuring MSC certified fisheries are not involved in shark finning. We want to make sure our requirements reflect global best practice in policy and management measures. We sought input from participants with a good understanding of national and international policies and control mechanisms used to prevent shark finning, who also have a basic understanding of how third-party certification programs operate.

Stakeholders were also invited to provide additional input through an online form. The online form is now closed.

Feasibility of Principle 1 changes for existing requirements

A virtual workshop was held in July 2020 to seek input on:

We sought input from experts in these areas to help us clarify and define specific terms and remove duplication in Principle 1.

Stakeholders were also invited to provide further input through an online form. The online form is now closed.

Endangered, threatened and protected (ETP) species and ghost gear

Virtual workshops were held in June and July 2020 to seek input on:

Fisheries Standard Review Consultation Launch

Virtual conference

In May 2020, we held a virtual conference for the Fisheries Standard Review Consultation Launch.

The MSC's Chief Science and Standards Officer, Dr Rohan Currey, outlined the current Fisheries Standard Review and answered questions on all areas under consideration for revision. 

Project leads from Science and Standards also discussed the key issues under review in each of the three Principles of the MSC Fisheries Standard. Each talk was followed by a live Question and Answer session.

View our virtual conference on demand


Clouds, mountains and sea with small waves, from West Coast Groundfish Fishery, Newport, Oregon, USA.

The Fisheries Standard Review

Every five years the MSC initiates a Fisheries Standard Review (FSR) to help us ensure our assessment and certification system remains the leading measure of fisheries sustainability.

Find out more
  • '{{item.Image.Title}}', {{item.Image.Artist}}, {{item.Image.Description}}